More online tools to fight procrastination

Dan Goldstein digs up three terrific web tools for boosting productivity.

1) Gmail is experimenting with a “Take a Break” option that prevents users from checking their email for 15 minutes and directs them to do something more productive instead.

To use it, you’ll need to manually activate “Gmail Labs” inside Gmail. See the Gmail blog or if you’re impatient, try Settings -> Labs from Gmail. Right now, it’s only enabled in the US and UK.

2) A Windows program prevents users from opening and using any other program. Goldstein says this tool is designed to prevent opening email software or internet browser.

3) An add-on to FireFox called Time Tracker that logs how much time you waste (ahem, spend) on various sites.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “More online tools to fight procrastination”

  1. Ryan O. Says:

    I heartily recommend Rescue Time. As a stats junkie, I love checking to see how my productivity improves from week to week. It doesn’t just track websites, but all applications you have running on your machine. You can define particular websites as productive, very productive, or neutral, anti-productive, or very anti-productive.

    (I haven’t yet tagged this blog, but I suspect it’ll have to go in the anti-productive bucket. Your blog, though wonderful, does little for my workplace productivity.)

  2. monicahamburg Says:

    I’m with Ryan. Just got Rescue Time and it’s very helpful for my wandering attention span. I work online and some research projects direct me to links where I can easily get distracted. Rescue time can be used to block sites that are anti-productive. For instance, a link on a psychology article just let me to a YouTube animated video. Now you know I don’t need to be watching that funny YouTube video, but I was curious. Thankfully Rescue Time intercepted and I couldn’t have been more grateful.

    A productivity tool like this is indeed an ideal Nudge, since nudges are often about protecting one in the battle between two selves (The self that enjoys money now, but also wants to save for the future. The self that wants to work vs. the self that wants to play. Etc.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

