Menu design tricks to get you to spend more

Thank you for visiting the Nudge blog. We have moved this post to our new website. This post can now be viewed at: http://nudges.org/2008/11/26/menu-design-tricks-to-get-you-to-spend-more/. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Tags: ,

7 Responses to “Menu design tricks to get you to spend more”

  1. Mike Says:

    If all the prices are on the right hand side, do people really scan the list for the cheapest one? Somehow I doubt this. People like to complain about the recession, gas prices, etc., but I haven’t seen anyone going into Ruth’s Chris and just getting a burger.

  2. foo Says:

    Plus, not everyone likes the same kinds of food. So for those of us who don’t eat much fish, well, that “mouth-watering description” *isn’t*. I know what I want before I get to most restaurants. And price *is* a concern – no way would I even enter a Ruth’s Chris, let alone order a burger there, while unemployed. My one meal out a week is reserved for local favorites where I know the owner and they know me and I can get a great meal for under 10 dollars and still have a wonderful time with friends.

  3. Emily Says:

    Yes, I scan the menu for the cheapest items. If any of those are appealing, I order those. I find menus that hide the less expensive items extremely annoying, but I’ve never thought about whether or not I spend more at those restaurants. However, I also hate going out to eat – the food is rarely as good as what I cook, the restaurant is invariably too loud and far away from home and requires a babysitter or the distraction of my children, and costs much more than cooking at home. Perhaps I would spend more if I were expecting to enjoy the experience?

  4. Troy Says:

    I own a restaurant and maybe I’m doing things wrong but I have the pricing down the right side of the col. But I make sure I use a nice easy on the eyes font and give accurate and mouth watering descriptions, which does work!
    I’m a mexican restaurant so there is no real expensive items on the menu as mexican is expected to be cheap! (which anoys the heck out of me) Any got some nice ideas from this artical. So thanks!

  5. John Says:

    @Mike I think the whole point of this is how menu design can nudge someone to make a more expensive choice than they may have been initially willing to. Someone visiting Ruth Chris is already likely to spend more than someone visiting Applebees. There is much more incentive to nudge people towards more profitable items when margins are much lower.

  6. Dan Says:

    I knew the price trick, but I never knew about the right panel real estate. Good stuff!

  7. Franny Says:

    Wow, this is a very helpful article. I agree that you have to put the prices in inconspicuous places so that the customers will not focus on them and focus on the food instead. I also read from Menu Prices and Recommendations that you also need to give creative names to dishes, not just their ordinary names.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

