Social influences on obesity

Smoking is not the only public health area where peer influences can be noticeable. Similar influences may shape the spread of obesity. Last year, a medical professor and a political scientist published a study in the New England Journal of Medicine the followed the spread of obesity among some 12,000 people from 1971 to 2003. You may have caught this in the news, but it’s worth taking a peek at this animated graphic (with audio) of how obesity spreads across this network of people. The clip last about two minutes.

Tags: ,

One Response to “Social influences on obesity”

  1. obese surgery Says:

    It is true that peer influences contribute to obesity. I remember as a young lad (a long time ago), my close friends teased me to no end about my slim figure. They were shall we say on the heavier side and I was the butt of jokes all the time. They wanted and pressured me to be like them. Glad to say I resisted and boy, am I glad I did!

    We all want to be liked and we all want to belong. Generally speaking we like to tow the line to belong and obesity is no exception to such influences.

Leave a Reply

